DHAA Artist of the Month – August 2013 – Cynthia Ellsworth ( Loving Tree) Store: Braveheartlion

Standard

Image

 

Braveheartlion

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Braveheartlion

Image

Here is comes—->

My name is Cynthia Ellsworth , My shop name is Loving Tree. I create all sorts of crafts, mostly clothing and sewn accessories. I also make dream catchers and sometimes jewelry. 

ImageMain Tool in the Loving Tree Studio Image PATCHWORK

The purpose is to grow love around the world while trying to support my 5 children and myself by staying home with them so I do not have to put them in daycare and work a job that would pay the same or less than I make with online sales generally.

 

ImageImagePhoto Credit: Cynthia

BEADING AND JEWELRY:

Picking beads for pipe case

I find one of my greatest inspirations is my own customers. When they come to me with a special request I love it. Especially if it’s something that I have never made before. I’m one of those crazy ones that likes a challenge to keep me on my toes and I love the since of accomplishment once I figure out how to do the project.

 

I have many project ideas come and go throughout each day. I have to write some of them down or draw a sketch to remember for later on. 

ImageImageImageTHE PROCESS

I work mostly in what I call my loving room rather than the living room we do not have TV there and try to keep it well, loving.

See this video if you like that shows a bit about my way of thinking and how I came up with the loving room concept.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXrm6RUTkZk

 ImageTHE LOVING ROOM

I try to use as many second hand and repurposed items for my projects.

I feel there are so many supplies and items in excess in the world I don’t need to contribute to more factory processing and farming if I can help it. I am also vegan and do not use any animal products in my items. 

ImageSCRAP BRACELETS

I especially love using vintage material and bedsheets with characters from the past to bring a smile to faces of us grown up kids that remember them. I have dyed some of my own fabric too and hope to get into making some clay items again and possibly coil baskets with yarn.  I really liked when we made them in art class during school.

Image

My mother would make my sisters and I clothes and some dolls when we were children and I learned how to use her sewing machine when I was around 9 years old. I didn’t do too much with it. The first items I remember making were a tucan and lion stuffed animals in home economics in 9th grade of school. 

ImageCARRYING ON THE FAMILY TRADITION

CREATING FOR THE KIDS

The first clothing I remember was a pair of patchwork pants and oh lord where they wild. I was extremely inexperienced and was mostly self taught, but I wore those pants till they wore thin from over wearing and washing. 

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contribution to the Deadhead Art Alliance Quilt

PUTTING LOVE IN EVERY CREATIONImagePATCHWORK

One memorable project is a few ladies were teaching sewing when I was in 11th grade and they seen how I loved it and took me on privately to help me create a baby quilt that was intended for my first born child that had little bunny squares on it and little ears flopping out. Sadly I left some of my property with a neighbor to store until my mother could pick up my things when I moved to Washington state from NY and they had a yard sale. I lost the blanket, lesson learned there. I hope to one day make a similar one to give to my daughter so she may at least have it for herself now and to pass on to her own baby someday. 

 

Image

 I love making the rasta cases too for glass. I and I has been a long love for me. Unity of us all in our lives is a desire I see happening. Plus then I know I am helping people protect their investment, because most of us know how it feels to have something glass we love break. 

 ImageHANDMADE POUCHES

My job is most interesting because I get to have contact with all sorts of people from all over the world I would not have the chance to meet if I was not doing this. I also love the fact that I can make a variety of items so I do not get bored of one thing all the time. 

Image

PHOTO CREDIT: GOOGLE IMAGES

Sometimes if it feels too much like work I will take a day and make something I want so it breaks it up a bit. I still feel good because I am adding another item to the inventory or as a gift for someone. Image

PIPE CASES

Image

DESIGNED BY LOVING TREE

My favorite songs are Brokedown Palace, Birdsong, and The Wheel

These are ever changing with the tides of my life. 

Image

The Wheel on Youtube: http://youtu.be/hbLx24IfR2g

I have been to several concerts and festivals over the years and would have to say I had the best time at Moedown 2010 when Damian Marley played. 

 Image

REUSABLE TOTES

My other interests are nature, gardening, and I like to play tennis whenever I can get someone to play with. 

I live on a little organic farm with some plants in the garden. Once I am ahead a bit I am going to have regular free workshops for people go come out and create many different things.   I will also have a free art studio and shared garden space with workshops regularly and a physical store that would be all homemade goods. 

I also hope some of you will come by and maybe help me put one on if you are ever in my area of Florida. I have a mountain of project ideas and love working with other people on collaborations

 I love my children and you all so very much.

I am so grateful to have been invited to be part of the Deadhead Art Alliance community by their leader Jenna Kidd from xDropBearStitcheryx last year. 

Image

Collaboration Entry for the Deadhead Art Alliance Quilt

PHOTO CREDIT: JKLD Deadhead Art Alliance

I think one of my most proud moments is when my 5 year old started sewing by hand and I even showed her how to use the machine the other day. Boy was she excited. I hope to inspire others and want to share any ideas or techniques so that people may help fill the world with unique and hand made items. I feel there is just something a little more special about homemade rather than some mass produced product out of a factory. 

Image

Much love to you all and happy crafting. :oD

 

 I’m touched by the world we live….  I hope to make it a better place

Woody Harrelson – Thoughts From Within (His Own Poem)

Image

http://youtu.be/HXrm6RUTkZk 

www.youtube.com

 

 

Etsy Store:

Image

 

Braveheartlion

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Braveheartlion

Ebay Store:

Image

http://www.ebay.com/sch/braveheartlion420/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25&_trksid=p3686

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/loving.tree.7

2 responses »

  1. This is an awesome blog post. Very inspiring. Cynthia you are so special. It makes my heart so happy reading this to know there are like minded people around. This is a great post to start my day with. Love and Light Woody’s video was awesome

Leave a Reply

