DHAA Artist of the Month – November 2013 – Debbie Rodgers Store: Thunder Rose Leather

Standard
DHAA Artist of the Month – November 2013 – Debbie Rodgers    Store: Thunder Rose Leather

Thunder Rose Leather by Debbie Rodgers and her partner John

Hi, I am Debbie and my business is Thunder Rose Leather

37008_444255911907_155538_n

 I work with John who is my husband of 35 years and leather making partner for over 25 of them.

We  live in a small community about 15 miles from Sedona, Arizona.

sedona

I am one of the original promoted Leaders of the Deadhead Art Alliance Team that started in April of 2012 on Etsy.  I have contributed to the team by helping to start the Facebook social media group which the team uses to promote and share their art with one another.  I also list our chat threads on Etsy every month where people are welcomed to come and share their day, ideas, and selling concerns with each other.   Helping our like-minded artists to connect, and to make treasuries to promote the their arts.

thunderrosetrez

Deadhead Art Alliance Etsy Treasury featuring artists from the DHAA

I am also the captain of the Working Artists Promotion Team on etsy.com and zibbet.com which  is for promoting handmade by you, vintage, upcyclers and supplies.

✄       ✄       ✄

Our work is all handmade by us and we do our best to make sure when you buy one of our creations you are happy about what you receive.

Everything is made right here in our home in our made to order shop. We have a large leather table so we can lay out our hides and find each item.

100_8976 (1024x683)

Each hide is very different so we do our best to get the closest look to the leather bag or whatever your purchase is. We work mostly in Elk skins and buffalo leather. We make all of our own lace and antler buttons.

thunderroseaotmtrez

We are self-taught artists.  We have had some friends along the way have pointed out this or that, but we taught ourselves mostly and quit our day jobs as soon as our business was able to stand on its own.  The business is always changing and flowing, just like everything else in life so we have found that you need to roll with the river, always making the best choices you can along the way.

riverthunderrose

photo credit: google images

When I was a young woman I was always looking for the craft I felt good with.

100_8969 (683x1024)

I tried many things.

100_8965 (1024x683)

One day I ran across a bunch of seed beads of all kinds of colors. That was it. I have been beading ever since.

deb

Photo Credit: ThunderRoseLeather.etsy.com

baby moccasins

We just kinda evolved into the leather because they go so good together.

I love my long fringed leather totes, of course with beadwork they are so easy to get in and out of. Our bags get better with age.

They become antique with what I call your medicine or person style.

100_8516 (683x1024)

I think the one thing that inspires me most to create is my spirit.

Creating has a satisfaction to it.

It’s a way I can give something I love to do to the human race and they can cherish it for a lifetime or give something handmade to their loved one.

100_6636 (683x1024)

I’ve found that Sitting down and creating something is centering for me. Focusing my mind on one thing is a kind of working meditation.  I love that.

thunderrosebeads

I do love listening to music while I bead and absolutely need to spend time in my garden with music and in nature to nourish my spirit.

The first festival I went to was when I was 16 years old. In was in the late 60’s early 70’s. The Dead were playing outdoors. Tickets back then were only about $5 to $10 dollars. That was it. I loved them and still do. They are one of a kind. I have been through many changes from that time until now, which is a very long story in itself,  but the Dead always uplift me. I like to put on a CD and turn up my music and dance.

I love to garden in the spring,  to watch an inspiring movie, and to play with my dog Rosie.

100_4406 (1024x683)

I just do what I do. Nothing more nothing less. I love what I do and feel very thankful for my life , my family and friends.

Besides being an artist I have a beautiful Daughter and four beautiful grandchildren that I adore. My dream is to one day be able to teach them my art and encourage them to find their own creative process so they can be free to be themselves in this confusing world.

53328_4096673368442_85255236_o

My favorite are books from  Pema Chodron, Lao Tzu, The Dalai Lama. They are my go to people for encouragement to stay on the path of loving kindness and compassion toward myself and others and to work with my own mind when times are hard.

art of happiness

Dali Lama: The Art of Happiness
Photo Credit: wikimedia

“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.”
― Dalai Lama XIV, The Art of Happiness

Selling Venues:                 thunderrose.etsy.com

Artist Contact info:         thunderrose[!at]ymail.com

Social Media Links:         https://www.facebook.com/thunderrosecreations

Thank you Debbie for being you and sharing the kindness you have learned with the world and the Deadhead Art Alliance Community.  We’re blessed to have you.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

