Deadhead Art Alliance Artist of the Month – February –Cherri and Frank – Store – HippyFranks

Standard
Deadhead Art Alliance Artist of the Month – February –Cherri and Frank – Store – HippyFranks

iusb_760x100.14295403_q1a8

HippyFranks

DSCN8568

Frank and Cherry shown at Haight Ashbury Street Fair Representing the DHAA Team with Captain Jen & Sumanasa Pixie

Hello!
We are Frank and Cherri, two aging nonconformist throwbacks of the
60’s.  Frank and I are proud members of the Deadhead Art Alliance on
Etsy.  We are two avid gypsies traveling up and down the U.S. west coast
in our RV along with our two dogs Gaia and Gandhi.

il_170x135.660357208_2coeil_170x135.732937137_pku1
We are proud to have two Etsy Shops.  Barefoot Garb is more of a fun
girlie festival fashion shop, which is filled with brightly colored hoop
dance costumes.  We are working on expanding our line here, so that you
can find a complete festie costume for both mommy and baby.

iusb_760x100.14571885_ckkr

il_170x135.720056364_9cbril_170x135.720081410_njwpil_170x135.718271270_9zk4

Hippy Franks has more of an earthy comfy vibe.  We really try to offer more
options in this shop for the fellas with vegan rasta tam’s, cotton wide
leg pants, and hand dyed re-purposed mens shirts.
aUbCAKDtKyEriHfV-J9dgzEVlAScXqyvK0zC7x4U2zsQg-jO994e7m91McKBt7LvIZ8YsdKPs3lp5AP-pfyMa7RPWkUYUxftEBWjfhb0GnDuPfL0x4wsHQaPJQMRuqXadIS71Hd_w58EqkIZa0ZUjLriWRXQYYlofa7ww9j9jH_XLsiohZhgAfbbz52L-y1jJlgBuAXbY0lOAyD7VFc7cXSOHE
Frank
and I have a simple life trying to live our lives in the most
sustainable fashion we can.  While it is not always possible we do
re-purpose whenever possible and used components which are vegan
friendly.

earth-friendlyjpg-600x600
Frank and I work well together (and regularly have differences of opinion)
often times collaborating and bouncing our ideas off of each other.
There are not enough hours in the day for either one of us to bring all
of our ideas into fruition.  I typically see great ideas in my dreams, which are always reminiscent of
the look popular during my youth in the 1960’s and 1970’s.
Frank has acquired a great passion for tie-dye and is always coming up with
new ideas for using his technique on re-purposed clothing items.
2y3Tack0QeoPc1Vg6C_cmJZVVoRtVvWlG407yVgtzkr6T_lo-_JgBclPNDgvp3p3sugZamMzdGJet3SJKyI7A3ohkk9-bU_rsFv4mA_qR-BaSqtKQG53oWrNK-jgXRjhyg6CicuEtqGcShUQvjZI_7O_hNAFrrAJXGvaaTF7RhdYjphYNSeQUuobKkJ2sWKdwlMp0uCTSUH_eoHoG-x_-aZAVU
Our studio is a 40’ motor home which we use to travel up and down the west
coast.  It has been a challenge, to say the least; Always finding new
ways to efficiently store our supplies and creations.  We have learned
over time, for us the best way to overcome this issue is to gravitate
towards more “made to order” items.  We make a grand effort to hold true to our beliefs in all that we do,
and craft items which are eco-friendly and vegan.  In our shops you will
typically find clothing and accessory items crafted with cotton
fabrics, vegan yarns, and re-purposed/up-cycled components.
Ut3FpeQV3GGgNBA739CCxhONBVGWOUQtXr7M6jab9sRVvo000jRrzL8pk3xdgzrPkQf3QfTYQMnIA9h1B3n-KQMqNm_mn8Lc8VW0aZilQFKZHAAQ_mckaY1IR-QH6JVmP2Prj4_07CEERXGPU2LXTftgHVUqyu7wIFMyuqhcRJGRYurB463igBIReCZRcG9vx7xkqC30Gu4R1ZFxTmIm-LbGyI
As a student I
took any and all art classes that were available to me, and I cannot
think of any form of art I have not participated in.
I have spent at least the last five years getting by without the need for
a day job.  Frank and I have sold a great deal at open air markets for
years, basically about anything we could make with our own two hands.
We have sold not only handmade crafts, but home canned goods, fermented foods, homemade goat cheese, and our own goat milk.
I come from a long line of farm folks who made everything, and I mean
everything.  Thinking way back I do remember chickens in the backyard,
but by the time I was born the raising of any other livestock had long
since passed. I was born and raised in San Joaquin Valley, CA once known for being the
breadbasket of America.  There was so much abundance that our family did
not need to grow much food, rather we worked hard gleaning the fields
after harvest.  We canned and froze all of our veggies and grandfather
hunted for our meat.  All of my clothing was handmade by gramma, and by the time I was a teenager I was sewing my own school clothes.
e5cVbuZ_sJz_h7qHHiFLmQOf9VyU99QzfJ4xhBDiYXcEksspmXEE_uh3CPyEhRwGgRyB9iX2ADYCgTmaPmn3vTxeMhJde8OhJScqg4ou_K_3VwnUyPjBgpYBXxuDhncdgrr8FZag9_J83UTbqqD_V4OB4920Ovkw2noAoxTJd5aPQKMl5JZ1D3Dsa92hlM8sSd3MvlNaZOvvahEzzOmpyGR_GI
my younger days I crafted handmade rag dolls, which I thoroughly
enjoyed crafting.  I miss those days.  My house literally looked like a
factory.  Honestly, looking back now I have no idea how I did it.  I had three small
children, and huge contracts to fill.  I was quite pleased with my
accomplishments, as many of the big box stores were carrying my dolls.

I find inspiration everywhere.  Literally everywhere.  I don’t know if
music inspires me, but it sure does motivate me.  I enjoy listening to
classic rock and old school R&B while I am working.  It motivates me
tremendously, uplifts my mood, and I tend to accomplish so much more
and with greater ease when I am listening to my tunes.  Crafting has always been a part of my life, like eating and sleeping.

I really don’t know of any other way to be… I love every aspect of what I do.  I
rather feel as though something is missing if I am in a situation which
leaves me unable to create.
I think my most motivating factor is the feeling I get when a buyer tells
me how much they really love their new piece.   Whether it be on Etsy
or at an outdoor market there are no words to describe this feeling.

dhaaaotmreviewscherryWe have a lot of ebbs and flows in our business, and like most of our
friends who have chosen this life we are not getting rich.  The hard
times are really a state of mind.  I mean, let’s face it, for the
artisan times are always hard.
ZotfHaiGvQe-jV4_o3bPkOSzefZ36kpjz2y2S2YydVzWeRDdMmaTT_PyHVPBbvFWpsFlBcf4Nd9gQzUh5SIVPn5SIT5GjEyO1K3orUAlLv1WrWnmxWjSyyx6RipEcigtrZ8jiwcKskLBNM3lFS8Btdm17a0rLCVe3b5vO3LRqaiN-j68yVEsqbyKtpzp6-0_mYl9xLHBLKEI5aJzLz1FgSSHvC
I cannot say that I never worry about tomorrow, because I do.  I do not,
however dwell on this.  Getting out one of my books of Edgar Cayce
readings always helps me bounce back.  And, if times start to look
really bleak I pull out the Four Agreements and I am good.

“The Four Agreements
1. Be impeccable with your word.
2. Don’t take anything personally.
3. Don’t make assumptions.
4. Always do your best. ”
Miguel Ruiz, The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

Frank and I spend a tremendous amount of time with our grandchildren.  We met
later in life and due to life circumstances, each of us feels that we
were not able to spend as much quality time with our children as we
would have liked.

I am seeing this pattern now with my adult children.  It seems to be
unavoidable.  Too much to do.  With that said, both Frank and I are
committed to being a huge part of our grandchildren’s lives.

My favorite quote, and the words I am always striving to live by is

“Be The Change You Wish To See In The World.”

I remember my first concert like it was yesterday.  I had a HUGE
infatuation for Michael Jackson from the first time I saw him on Ed
Sullivan I was in love!  When I was 12 the Jackson Five came to town.  I come from a family of very
conservative people, and convincing my parents to let me go to this was a
big task.  I did, however finally convince them and my father was able
to swing “Star Isle” front row seats at the Circle Star Theater in
Redwood City.  Whoa, front row at the Circle Star.  And the group was to
enter the stage area right past me to boot.  Yep, that night was
magical.  I don’t know if Michael entered the audience many more times after that,
but he did enter the audience that night and it was amazing.

circle-star

Brian Ross/Chronicle 1986

I am honored and humbled to be given the opportunity to share my passion with you.
your dreams for your store for the future if you like to add this
I am an avid believer in community.  Because of so many changes in this
world, I feel that we have lost touch with our true nature.  Most of us
feel helpless and alone, and have been so conditioned that we choose to
take whatever obstacles life throws in front of us with indifference.

It seems as though the universe does not fail to provide us with such
obstacles once we begin to feel “comfortable”  I truly believe that this
is spirit saying, “hello, wake-up, stop the complacency” Separatism
really is not working well in this world.  I feel that it was an
informative experiment, but that it is time to get back to our true
roots of sharing and caring.

Selling Venues:
Incense and Peppermints
http://www.incenseandpeppermints.us/

Barefoot Garb on Etsy
https://www.etsy.com/shop/BarefootGarb

Hippy Franks on Etsy
https://www.etsy.com/shop/HippyFranks

Artist Contact info:
spiritherbs@mail.com

Social Media Links:

Pinterest: Incense and Peppermints
https://www.pinterest.com/cherryherbs/

Twitter:  Incense and Peppermints
https://twitter.com/GypsySeamstress

Facebook:  Hippy Franks
https://www.facebook.com/HippyFranks

Tumblr:  Barefoot Garb
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/barefootgarb

Thank you Cherry and Frank for being wonderful leaders and great support for this team..

Forever Grateful, Deadhead Art Alliance Team

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

